About Us

ILA-Canada is the Canadian branch of the International Law Association based in London, UK but founded in Brussels in 1873. According to the Constitution of ILA, the organization promotes "the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law." ILA boasts over 4500 members world wide including Canada. ILA-Canada serves the Canadian international law community including legal scholars, practitioners, students and policy makers by providing workshops, conferences and research on wide range of international law topics.






Dr Konstantia Koutouki


Full Professor

Faculty of Law

Université de Montréal

Bernard Colas

Past ILA President / Treasurer

Attorney & Parner

Colas Moreira Kazandjian Zikovsky LLP (CMKZ)

Marsha Simone Cadogan

Board Secretary

Post-Doctoral Fellow, International Law Research Program


Board Member

Armand de Mestral

Professor Emeritus

Faculty of Law

McGill University

Board Member

Oonagh Fitzgerald

Senior Fellow

Human Rights Research and Education Centre

University of Ottawa

Board Member

The Honourable Barry Leon



Arbitration Place

Board Member

Debra P Steger

Emeritus Professor

University of Ottawa

Faculty of Law

Board Member

Frederic Perron-Welch

PhD candidate

Faculty of Law

Universiteit Leiden

Board Member

Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger

Full Professor of Law

School of Environment, Enterprise and Environment

University of Waterloo

Board Member

Dr Cassandra Steer


College of Law

Australian National University

Board Member

Stephen Lowe

Retired Commercial Banker

Member of the Institute of Bankers and Institute of Export (UK)

Board Member

David Pavot

Chair on Anti-Doping and Sport

L'École de gestion

Université de Sherbrooke

Board Member

Wayne Garnons-Williams

President of International Inter-tribal Trade Organization, Principal Director of Garwill Law Professional Corporation, Principal Director at Indigenous Sovereign Trade Consultancy Ltd.

Board Member

Payam Akhavan

Senior Fellow at Massey College, Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague

Board Member

Olabisi D. Akinkugbe

Assistant Professor 

Schulich School of Law

Dalhousie University

Board Member

Vanisha Sukdeo

Ph.D. Candidate

Osgoode Hall Law School

York University

Email: secretariat@ila-canada.ca

Phone: 1.514.343.6111 ext 0749

  • Facebook
  • Twitter